Q&A WITH SHERELLE WILLIAMS’ SPORTY CHIC LIFESTYLE

tumblr_nhjgc0hGDU1qd5tvco1_1280

Being a student is hard; being a student-athlete is even harder. What about being a student-athlete at a school whose main focus is art. Sherelle Williams has been a student-athlete at the Academy of Art University for three years. Playing on the Women’s basketball team and majoring in Fashion Styling, see what she has to say about her sporty chic lifestyle.

  1. In what ways do you incorporate your sports lifestyle into your fashion?

It’s my main focus of most of my projects. It is what type of styling I would like to do after school. I would like start off by doing some personal styling for famous athletes. A lot of the time athletes don’t have the greatest sense of fashion, especially men. I think I could see myself doing some great work for the men in sports.

  1. How do you feel about high-end fashion labels putting a spin on sportswear in fashion? 

I love it! I think it is great, it is exactly how I dress so it’s a win-win situation for me.

  1. Being a student-athlete, how do you manage your time with sports and school?

It is very hard being a student-athlete, especially at the Academy. A school that is so project based and having the main focus of your school work being what is going to start your portfolio for the real world. I try my best to make time with school and sports, by equaling out the time. There are some days where I am jammed packed with homework staying up very late, and having to get up at 7am the next morning for practice. I think the most difficult part of managing is when we are on the road. Staying in hotel, plane rides and long drives, there is not enough time, or sometimes not even great wifi to try and do my work.

  1. Coming straight from practice to class, what are some ways that you like to flare up your look if you do not have time to change?

Playing a sport at the Academy is way different from playing a sport at any other University. We unlike most universities don’t have a main campus, causing us not to have our own gym facility. We practice about 30mins away from our main location 620 Sutter St. We start practice around 8am going until 11am giving me about 30mins until my noon class. There is not much time to go home and change into something more presentable, or even fashion forward. My usual outfit for class contains sweats and a sweatshirt (and not even a cute one).

  1. Do you ever feel uncomfortable wearing sweats to class, while everyone else is dressed?

When I first came to this school I for sure felt uncomfortable, especially being in the fashion program. Everyone comes to class all dolled up and here I am wearing my red and black sweatpants suit. I often felt so out of the loop, but now I’m pretty sure everyone knows that I am in sports, and so I don’t care as much. There are days that I don’t have class until 3:30 giving me time to actually get dressed.

  1. How would you identify your style?

My style is very simple; I enjoy layering and wearing loose fitting clothing. Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 5.29.17 PM

  1. So you mentioned some of your new projects incorporated menswear. What about menswear inspires you?

I enjoy working with men as a stylist because they are more open to taking risk in fashion trends. And I do believe menswear is universal and can be worn by anyone.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration from for your styling?

I gather most of my inspiration by just raiding the Internet. Tons of fashion blog, fashion sites like WGSN, Style.com, Refinery29, WWD, and honestly just from people I see everyday. As you know living in SF there are a ton of different styles, I like to see what others like to put together, and sometimes If I really like what they are wearing I’ll pick up some tips on how they styled themselves.

  1. What styling road would you like to go down after graduation?

I would love to be a personal stylist for some of the very stylish male athletes. There has been a huge rise in fashion with male athletes, like NBA stars Russell Westbrook, Nick Young, and Dwayne Wade and so many more.

Leave a Reply

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

ElleKae

where fashion meets street

Denim & Dumplings

Fashion, food and everything in between

High Class Broke B*@%!

celebrity looks for affordable prices

4-14.org

Your source for new adidas shoes and releases

Anne Madeline Designs

Fashion Illustrations

Modern Charmant

Your Daily Dose of Modern Culture

WEi to Love

It is the "mood board" of a young, modern stylist, Wei Hsu, passionate about fashion, beauty and lifestyle. She shares her works and experiences while studying in the San Francisco.

jiayingthepowerful

TO BE A FASHION JOURNALIST

clothes minded

Female addicted to retail.

Fabmommyblog

A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.' - Coco Chanel

